Big Talk

Raph al Guul

“Hey, how are you doing?”

“Oh hi! Well, mostly just fine. Moved into a new apartment a few weeks ago, that’s working out fairly well. It’s closer to work, so I don’t have to get up that early any more. Guess the downside is that traffic is a little heavier than at the old place, uhm, but I can deal with that. And the neighbors are nice, although what does that mean in suburbia, am I right.

Yeah, uh… other than that, I’ll have to admit that the break-up has been pretty tough. Came out of nowhere, to be honest. I still miss her some times, which sucks. Yeah… but I try to deal with that by spending a lot of time with my buddies – you know: the usual. We hang out down at the pub, knock back a couple of cold ones, and I try to ignore the fact that I have no idea where I’m headed. I know, I know. Sounds overly mopey and pathetic. But you know… I’m dealing with it one step at a time – and as best I can.

Doesn’t exactly, uh, help that my mother died two weeks ago. She was a kind soul – you have met her, haven’t you. Anyway, yeah. Heart failure. Her condition had gotten worse before that, but they couldn’t do anything to stop it. Guess it was ‘her time’ – as people call it… Sounds a little cruel and calculated, don’t you think. Huh. But whatever. Dad is taking it surprisingly well, you know. Maybe it hasn’t hit him, yet. I mean- He’s probably gonna have to sell the house. But that’s not something we should concern ourselves with right now.

Eugh… It is a little strange how stuff like this suddenly makes you think about the future, isn’t it. One day you’re blindly sliding down the slippery slope that is your life, and then bam! You suddenly become aware of it. Scary stuff, especially when you don’t know where it’s taking you. Made me want to take matters into my own hands, you know. Turns out I don’t have the stones to quit my shitty job, though- hehe. That’s pretty sad, isn’t it. But I decided I had other problems at the moment. Yup. One step at a time, like I said.

So yeah. There’s that, but I’m just fine otherwise. Thanks for asking! But enough about me. How have you- uhm… where’d you go?”

Leave a Reply

