Poetry Monday #4: First Love

First Love
by Rahel Bamert

First love it felt so real
What am I for if not to learn?
And I saw your heart was made of steel
Impossible to break or burn

Like a prison for my youngest soul
And its claws won’t let me leave
My feelings get numb as coal
And without love I cannot breathe

But I also learnt to hide
And left behind my dying hope
So here I am; I found my other side
And I’m climbing up the eternal rope
That leads me to the mountain’s peak
From where I can steer who makes me weak

If you are interested and eager to participate in Poetry Monday, send your submissions to zest.poetrymonday@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

